Your Heart-Smart Fitness Routine


push ups
push ups (Photo credit: sun dazed)

Do this workout at least 3 times a week:

Thirty minutes of any type of exercise is good for your health, but what you do with that time really makes a difference when it comes to protecting your heart. We asked Johnny Lee, MD, cardiologist and spokesperson for the American Heart Association, to map out the ideal routine. Big bonus: It’ll also help you slim down and tone up.Stretching before you start any activity will help prevent an injury. Hold each stretch for 20 seconds. Read on for a few of Dr. Lee’s favorites.1)Sit with your legs spread and reach hands to one foot. Hold, than reach toward your other foot.2)Lie on your stomach with palms face down. Push your upper body up, arch your back and look up at the ceiling.3)Bring one arm across your chest, pulling it close to your body with the other. Hold, then switch arms.4)Now some Push ups These moves get blood flowing to your muscles as well as build them up, which helps you burn more calories. For each, do 3 sets of 8 reps, then move to the next one.5)Lie on your back with knees bent, arms crossed over chest.6) Sit up until your back is off the floor, then lower down.7)Get in push-up position with knees on floor. Lower down a few inches, then push back up.This is the most important part! You want to get your heart pumping to reach your target heart rate zone and stay there,Choose any activity you enjoy. Like a jog,or Bundle up and go for a brisk walk outside. (Bonus: Your body actually burns more calories when it’s cold out.)Have a Wii or Kinectin the house? Pop in a game that has a cardio component (like tennis) and go!Or you could Put on some music and take laps around your house. Add stair trips or do 10 jumping jacks every 5 minutes.Then Gradually slow down your cardio, take deep breaths and do some more light stretching.

American Heart Association, Calorie, diet, Dieting, dieting programs, Fitness, Health, Heart rate, Human nutrition, Johnny Lee, Loss Weight, Nutrition, Physical exercise, Push-up, Top Weight loss, Weight, Weight Loss Tips, weight tips, Wii

21 thoughts on “Your Heart-Smart Fitness Routine

  1. Some truly nice and useful information on this website, as well I conceive the style and design has excellent features.

  2. I am impressed with this web site , rattling I am a big fan .

  3. I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my web site :).

  4. I really like your writing style, superb information, regards for posting :D. “All words are pegs to hang ideas on.” by Henry Ward Beecher.

  5. I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site :).

  6. Absolutely pent articles, Really enjoyed examining.

  7. games says:

    Absolutely written written content , thankyou for information .

  8. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

  9. I like this web blog its a master peace ! Glad I found this on google. “Irrationally held truths may be more harmful than reasoned errors.” by Thomas Huxley.

  10. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  11. Appreciating the determination you put into your site and in depth information you present. It is nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated re-written information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your internet site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Yahoo account.

  12. Forgive my stupidity, but I can’t for the life of me find your sites rss feeds. Can you tell me where it is? Thanks.

  13. Hello, very goodpost,very useful, Iwill share.Hugs to all

Leave a Reply

