THE HUNGER BLOGS


Thinspiration: Pro-Ana & Pro-Mia Website Photo...I found this very important yet slightly disturbing article on aol news. It’s about, A Secret World Of TeenageThinspirationKate leads a double life. Offscreen, she’s a tall, slender, and soft-spoken 17-year-old from Utah, who describes herself as “super awkward” and yet fantasizes about becoming a famous runway model in New York City. Onscreen, she’s the confident champion of a secretive community of teenage girls who celebrate ghoulish thinness, relish photos of emaciated women, and furtively share tips about how to stave off hunger.Kate, whose last name and Tumblr URL have been withheld to protect her identity, is a guru of “thinspo” (short for “thinspiration”). That odd marriage of clever wordplay and disturbing mindset is typical of this underground network of young, female diarist on Tumblr, the image-laden micro-blogging platform popular with teenagers. This codependent sisterhood of bloggers uses Tumblr for one sole purpose: to lose extreme and unhealthy amounts of weight”Most days I feel like what I’m doing could be way too much,” Kate told the Huffington Post. “I know that if I stay on a very dangerous path, that it could kill me within a year easily, if not sooner. But at the same time, I feel like if I set a goal, I have to reach it. I’m pretty torn about it most days, but I’ve never really felt bad enough that I wanted to stop.”Like most thinspo devotees, Kate broadcasts her starting weight (“SW: 151.2”), current weight (“CW: 127”), and ultimate goal weight (“UGW: 115″) at the top of her Tumblr, along with her height (5’10”). These numbers help Kate, and her 5,000 followers, track her weight loss. According to standards for healthy body mass index, Kate’s ultimate goal weight is more in line with a woman 4’10”, or a full foot shorter.Sixteen-year-old Antonia (last name withheld) also runs a popular, photo-based thinspo blog out of her bedroom. “I like images that show skinny, happy girls,” she writes in an email to the Huffington Post. “They look so confident and we can see their bones through their skin. It’s the most beautiful thing ever. I also like tips about food or how to ignore hunger.”Do the authors of these blogs recognize that their work is dangerous and disturbing? Frequently, yes. Travel far enough down the rabbit hole of Tumblr’s thinspo community — which often overlaps with the platform’s blogs devoted to health and fitness, dubbed “fitblrs” and you’ll find cautionary signs advising those prone to disordered eating to venture no further. Look for the words “trigger warning,” thinspo code indicating that you’ve reached a pro-anorexia blog (aka pro-“ana” in thinspo speak).”It’s a huge issue,” says Claire Mysko, an advisor to the National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA), who has seen a large increase in the number of pro-anorexia and pro-bulimia blogs since Tumblr exploded in popularity last year. “Young people who are prone to disordered eating are generally plagued with insecurity and feeling very isolated, so this world of pro-ana provides a community and a sense of belonging, and validates their experiences. But unfortunately, it does so in a way that promotes incredibly unhealthy and dangerous behavior.”Search for “thinspo” on Tumblr, and you’ll find a landing page (www.tumblr.com/tagged/thinspo) with a seemingly endless stream of tagged posts — fashion photographs, food-diary entries, and quotes on willpower and beauty, driven by the thinspo and “fitspo” blogs of thousands of young women. Every word and image posted declares the user’s allegiance to an underweight ideal of beauty.After launching in 2007, Tumblr has shown incredible growth — last year, the site generated roughly 15 billion page views and attracted 120 million unique visitors each month. What draws teens to Tumblr in the first place — the ease of sharing and finding bloggers with common interests, a parent-free environment (now that Facebook has become family friendly), and the diary-like feel of its blogs — also makes the site conducive to health and weight-loss blogs.And where those blogs are prevalent, it’s likely that pro-ana pages that promote disordered eating will thrive, as well. The Tumblr platform is ideal for giving expression to both inspirational and aspirational content — their intimate and frequently anonymous nature make it comfortable for authors to post highly personal information alongside collages of fashion photographs, in an effort to inspire themselves and other girls who are desperate to shed pounds.Although thinspiration sites have been around nearly as long as the Internet itself — as far back as 2001, Yahoo! removed roughly 115 sites (pro-ana was the label used at that time) citing violations of the company’s terms of service — the depth and scope of Tumblr’s teen thinspo community seems unprecedented. Tumblr-based thinspo blogs are a sort of pro-ana 2.0, forgoing chat rooms and message boards in favor of eerily elegant images, sophisticated design, pop-culture references, private messaging, and street-style sensibility. The blogs are reflections of their creators. For millennial girls — uber-connected, style savvy, image-conscious, and concerned about uncertain economic futures — Tumblr offers an intimate, exclusive, and of-the-moment niche community of peers.The pages are both personal memoirs and public bulletin boards. In one corner, you’ll see a “motivational” quote (“I came into 2012 fat but I’m going to leave it skinny,” which was ‘reblogged,’ or shared, more than 1,500 times), and in another, a photo of Victoria’s Secret model Miranda Kerr strutting down the catwalk. Melancholy song lyrics once reserved for the private corners of dog-eared notebooks (“Come on skinny love, what happened here? Come on skinny love, just last the year,” from Bon Iver’s 2008 indie anthem), share the turmoil of the teenage years with thousands of followers. The poster girl for thinspo bloggers is Cassie, the starry-eyed, anorexic pill-popper of the British teen television drama Skins, whose image pops up all over the thinspo blogosphere. The models most frequently featured are Karlie Kloss and Kate Moss. An iconic black-and-white photograph of Kate in an oversized T-shirt that reads “I Beat Obesity” is a recurring theme, perfectly capturing the ethos of the thinspo community.I think as parents it is are responsibility to spread the word about these Hunger Blogs and do what ever we can to put a stop to this. Once again we need to educate our children on the important of Healthy Eating.as well as the damage they are doing to their bodys.My daughter has a tumblr and i will definitely be checking it more often.A nd if you have teenage daughters you should do the same.They need to know how serious this really is.And remember if they get upset about you checking out their sites,it’s most likely because there is something they don’t want you to see.But we are the parents and it is our responsibility to protect our children even from their self. Original post from: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/08/thinspiration-blogs_n_1264459.html

.Loss Weight, diet, Dieting, Weight Loss Tips, weight loss programs, dieting programs, Top Weight loss, Health, Portion Control, Food, Human nutrition, Eating, Nutrition, Physical exercise, Fitness, Programs, Calorie

41 thoughts on “THE HUNGER BLOGS

  1. Teri Dyer says:

    Brilliant post. Very informative & well written.

    I’m currently looking for people’s views on pro-anorexic websites. Feel free to share your views on my blog post. http://studenthealthnews.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/pro-anorexia-websites/

    Lots of people can learn from your opinions. Keep up the good work.

  2. I really enjoy reading this. Very good material. I will be bookmarking and returning. Keep up the great work!

  3. Chris says:

    If you going to blatantly steal an article, at least give credit to where you found it. “http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/08/thinspiration-blogs_n_1264459.html”

    • Chris says:

      Edit, re-read that you got it on aol, my apologies.

      • Sorry if you felt that i would knowing just steal someone’s article.I did find this on aol.but i edited my post to let people know where the original post came from.I hope you will except my apologies as well,It was a very good article,felt it was worth sharring

  4. Lian Munday says:

    Bizarrely enough, there is something that is completely missed when looking into this area, it’s the abhoration that the medical professionals are also perpetuating this phenomenon in the adult population with the proliferation of bariatric surgeries. I had a gastric (ghastly) band fitted, it didn’t help me in my weight loss efforts, but it did help me to throw up after every meal and I must admit it became addictive. I have metobolic syndrome and had the private hospital where I paid for my surgery actually checked, they would have realised that gastric surgery wouldn’t help, only exacerbate my plight. I had it removed and I am now fighting to lose weight in a healthy and controlled manner. I think this is an area that also needs to be publicised in how desperatly unhealthy this surgery is – for EVERYONE!!
    Thanks for your excellent blog, it did make me want to go and join and see if it could help me – I do seem to have some issues around weight, but thankfully, I am big enough and clever enough to realise when I am being ridiculous – well, I am now anyway. Keep up the excellent work!

    • Sorry to hear that you are sruggling,I don’t know alot about gastric surgery but I agree that they are not a HEALTHY choose when it comes to weightloss.People are being mislead in to thinking that these surgeries can help them when in fact they are not.There are several reasons why people try to lose weight, weather it’s for Health reasons or for personal satisfaction.It can be done without harmful surgeries,or useless dieting pills.By adding certain foods to a Healthy Eating Plan,Consistant Regular Exercise,and Disciplined Portion Control weightloss is possible for anyone.check out my post on Secret Weightloss Tips for the five foods that help with weightloss.Hang in there,and Thanks for sharring

  5. Lian Munday says:

    Reblogged this on From Gastric Band to Fitness and commented:
    Amazing, good job I didn’t find these sites before I had the ridiculous ghastly surgery, Imight have done a different way!

  6. Auravie Skin says:

    Heads Up We simply love your beautiful blog thank you and please don’t stop!

  7. Hi, Neat postThere is an issue and your site in web explorer, could test this IE nonetheless will be the marketplace chief as well as a large component of people will miss your great writing for that reason problem.

  8. vimax brasil says:

    I believe this internet web site has got extremely excellent indited articles content .
    84HLUL3NT3
    comprar brasil vimax
    vimax vimax
    vimax Vimax
    vimax vimax

  9. I am taking the Internet seriously now. I am retired and can dive into it. I can see that there is a rich diversity in the blogs I am reading and I am trying to leave some comment whereever I visit. I don’t understand everything that is in all the blogs that I read, but I like your presentation here in this blog. I am the proud owner of my own website and blog and i get ideas from blogs such as yours. Thank-you. I put my site and email in the allocated spaces. I hope you approve that I did this. It seems to be customary so I went ahead with it. TheVeryBest2You 13 3

    • Well,Thank you very much I get my Info from many sources I feel that it is important for people to think about their Health when it comes to weightloss. There are several ways to lose weight, I focus on the many Healthy ways to lose unwanted pounds while maintaining good Health.Thanks again for visiting my site and I will be sure to visit you’r site as well.

  10. Homepage says:

    This site is my inhalation, actually wonderful layout and Perfect written content material. 978059

  11. URL says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 81647 more Infos: mytopweightloss.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/the-hunger-blogs/ […]…

  12. Lose Weight says:

    This is the beginning of my Internet Life. I have reitred from the grind. I am reading blogs on many topics, and commenting too. I think that you have to put some attention on a blog to bring it above the dry and boring verbage that is common, and you have definitely accomplished that. I am approaching this from all sides, sonce I recently started my own website with its own blog. I have incuded a website and email address. Is this acceptable? I hope this is allright. TheVeryBest2You 13 9

  13. This is an amazing blog, I wanted to ask you where you came up with all of your writing techniques?

  14. Very nice pattern and great content material, practically nothing else we want :D.

  15. Wohh just what I was looking for, thank you for putting up.

  16. I was studying some of your posts on this site and I conceive this website is really informative ! Keep posting .

  17. Good grief. I heard such nonsense when a freshmen at my local technical college said “thus it was” and it was that way for him, and thus it stayed, on through adulthood, stagnating the mind and leading to ultimate despair.

  18. yahoo games says:

    I like this web site very much so much superb information.

  19. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the choose”.I am trying to in finding things to improve my site!I assume its adequate to use a few of your ideas!!

  20. Enjoyed reading through this, very good stuff, regards . “It requires more courage to suffer than to die.” by Napoleon Bonaparte.

  21. I view something genuinely special in this website.

  22. Michal says:

    If some one wants expert view on the topic
    of blogging then i recommend him/her to go to see this
    webpage, Keep up the good job.

  23. Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

