Servings and Portions


When we are trying to lose weight the Confusion between “servings” and “portions” makes eating the right amount of food difficult. Serving sizes are standardized amounts of food with specific calorie and nutrient contents. Portions, on the other hand, are how much we choose to eat. To make sure you aren’t overeating, you must know the size of a serving. The following everyday approximations should help.

Approximate Single-Serving Sizes

Grilled fish Personal checkbook
Potato Computer mouse
Meat serving Deck of cards
Hard cheese Four dice
Peanut butter Tip of your thumb
Cup of fruit Baseball
Apple/Orange Tennis ball

Once we see how small servings are, most of us realize our portions are way too big. A typical serving of steak at a restaurant, for example, is the size of four decks of cards, the equivalent of four servings. Obviously, choosing to eat wisely means giving importance both to what and to how much we eat. Serving sizes can be sneaky. You think you’re watching your calories by glancing at the nutrition information on the back of your favorite food or beverage, but beware: If you don’t read carefully, you could be taking in four or five times the calories you think you are. Take, for example, that bag of Bear Naked Banana Nut granola that you like for breakfast. Pour yourself a medium bowlful and you could be eating as many calories and grams of fat as a McDonald’s double cheeseburger. That’s because the actual serving size is only 1/4 cup (a mere 4 tablespoons) and 140 calories. Pour a whole cup’s worth (which is easy to do) and you’re eating 560 calories and 28 grams of fat.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Loss Weight, diet, Dieting, Weight Loss Tips, weight loss programs, dieting programs, Top Weight loss, Health, Portion Control, Food, Human nutrition, Eating, Nutrition, Physical exercise, Fitness, Programs, Calorie

16 thoughts on “Servings and Portions

  1. wartica says:

    I totally agree; I always have the same problem deciphering the two. My problem – that I’m still working on – is cutting back the portions. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    • Thanks,and yes cutting back on portions is hard but you have to remember you’r body doesn’t need those extra portions and you’r actually going to feel ever better without them. Controling you’r portions will get easier,but you also need to have a healthy eating plan in place. Keep up the good work.

  2. Hi there, I liked this writing here, you are helping web people with good information! This web site is very enlightening!
    My name is Isabel, I was born on Aveiro, so I will be a follower of this web site, my hobbies you may don´t want to know them but I say them anyway I am very found of football as well as sports in general, and I also listen a lot Metallica on my roadtrips, I´m without boyfriend now so male users….Just flirting with you guys lol :)! I once tried online dating it didn´t worked out very well….
    I made this comment because as I previously said I really enjoy this web site I also have a forum just like you, but mine is vey different from yours, it is about free poker money….:)
    I will also apologize for my writting it is the only way I found to talk with you….
    BYe BYe to everybody, Bye

  3. My spouse and i still can’t quite believe that I could be one of those reading through the important recommendations found on your web blog. My family and I are really thankful on your generosity and for offering me the chance to pursue my chosen profession path. Thanks for the important information I obtained from your web site.

  4. Thats great Thank you

  5. Absolutely pent written content , thanks for selective information .

  6. I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • Thank you, sorry I do not have a news letter at this time still trying to figure that out.But feel free to follow for updates.You can also follow us on Twitter @mytopweightloss

  7. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

  8. Webcamsex says:

    I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of wonderful info, saved to bookmarks (:.

  9. hybrid car says:

    Wohh precisely what I was looking for, thank you for posting.

  10. I merely wanted to thank you one more time for the amazing web page you have developed here. It can be full of ideas for those who are truly interested in this subject, specifically this very post. You really are all actually sweet and also thoughtful of others plus reading your site posts is a great delight with me. And what generous surprise! Jeff and I really have pleasure making use of your guidelines in what we should do in a few days. Our listing is a mile long which means your tips will certainly be put to beneficial use.

  11. swinging says:

    To follow up on the up-date of this matter on your web-site and would wish to let you know simply how much I valued the time you took to publish this valuable post. In the post, you spoke on how to seriously handle this issue with all convenience. It would be my personal pleasure to get some more ideas from your site and come up to offer others what I have benefited from you. Thank you for your usual terrific effort.

Leave a Reply

